Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

Announcement Appointment of Directors

On 24 June 2010, China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") adopted resolutions at the 2009 annual general meeting in which Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, and Mr. Zhao Xijun were elected as independent non-executive directors of the Bank, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling and Ms. Sue Yang were elected as non-executive directors of the Bank. The China Banking Regulatory Commission has approved qualifications of the above-mentioned directors to hold office. The board of directors (the "Board") formally announces that, effective from 6 August 2010, Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, and Mr. Zhao Xijun shall be appointed as independent non-executive directors of the Bank, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling and Ms. Sue Yang shall be appointed as non-executive directors of the Bank.

Emoluments of the above-mentioned directors shall be determined with reference to the *Interim Measures on Emoluments Distributions for Directors and Supervisors of China Construction Bank Corporation* and the *Measures on Administration of Allowance for Independent Directors and External Supervisors of China Construction Bank Corporation*. The Nomination and Compensation Committee of the Board shall, at the end of each year, propose the emoluments distribution plan, which shall be presented to the Board for consideration and be subject to implementation upon the approval by the shareholders' meeting.

Please refer to the Circular for the 2009 Annual General Meeting and the First H Shareholders Class Meeting of 2010 and the Supplemental Circular of the 2009 Annual General Meeting published on the website of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited at www.hkexnews.hk on 7 May 2010 and 4 June 2010 respectively for the Curriculum Vitae of the above-mentioned directors.

The board of directors of the Bank welcomes Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, Mr. Zhao Xijun, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling and Ms. Sue Yang to join the Board.

By order of the Board of Directors China Construction Bank Corporation Zhang Jianguo

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

13 August 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo, Mr. Chen Zuofu and Mr. Zhu Xiaohuang; the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, Dame Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Zhao Xijun and Mr. Wong Kai-Man; and the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yong, Ms. Wang Shumin, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling, Ms. Li Xiaoling and Ms. Sue Yang.