Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 939)

Announcement on Increase in Shareholding by Controlling Shareholder of China Construction Bank Corporation

This announcement is published pursuant to rule 13.09(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

On 10 October 2011, China Construction Bank Corporation (the "**Bank**") received a notice from Central Huijin Investment Limited ("**Huijin**"), its controlling shareholder, that Huijin increased its shareholding of the Bank by 7,384,369 A-shares through the trading system of the Shanghai Stock Exchange today (the "**Share Acquisition**").

Immediately prior to the Share Acquisition, Huijin held 142,745,374,428 shares of the Bank (comprising 154,879,777 A-shares and 142,590,494,651 H-shares), representing approximately 57.09% of the total issued share capital of the Bank. Immediately following the Share Acquisition, Huijin holds 142,752,758,797 shares of the Bank (comprising 162,264,146 A-shares and 142,590,494,651 H-shares), representing approximately 57.09% of the total issued share capital of the Bank.

Huijin intends to continue to increase, in its own capacity, its shareholding in the Bank on the secondary market within 12 months commencing from the date of the Share Acquisition.

By order of the Board of Directors **China Construction Bank Corporation Zhang Jianguo** Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

10 October 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo, Mr. Chen Zuofu and Mr. Zhu Xiaohuang; the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, Dame Jenny Shipley, Mr. Zhao Xijun and Mr. Wong Kai-Man; and the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yong, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Ms. Li Xiaoling, Ms. Sue Yang, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling and Mr. Dong Shi.