Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

Announcement on the Approval of Issuance of Subordinated Bonds

The 2011 First Extraordinary General Meeting (the "Meeting") of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank"), which was held on 18 August 2011, approved the resolution of issuance of RMB-denominated subordinated bonds in the total amount of not more than RMB80 billion. The resolution is effective from the date when the Meeting approved the issuance of subordinated bonds until 31 August 2013.

Pursuant to the resolution above, the Bank submitted the application concerning the issuance of this term subordinated bonds in the total amount of not more than RMB40 billion to the regulatory authority. The Bank has recently received approvals from the China Banking Regulatory Commission entitled "The Approval of the Issuance of Subordinated Bonds by China Construction Bank" and from the People's Bank of China entitled "The Decision on Administrative Approval from the People's Bank of China", pursuant to which approvals were given to the Bank to issue subordinated bonds in the total amount of not more than RMB40 billion in the interbank bond markets

With regard to the issuance of subordinated bonds, the Bank will perform its information disclosure obligations in accordance with relevant regulatory provisions.

Announcement of the captioned matter is hereby given.

By order of the Board of Directors
China Construction Bank Corporation
Zhang Jianguo

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

19 October 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo, Mr. Chen Zuofu and Mr. Zhu Xiaohuang; the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, Dame Jenny Shipley, Mr. Zhao Xijun and Mr. Wong Kai-Man; and the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yong, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Ms. Li Xiaoling, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling and Mr. Dong Shi.