Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 939)

Announcement on Appointment of Mr. Wang Hongzhang as Chairman of the Board

China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") adopted a resolution at the first extraordinary general meeting of 2012 on 16 January 2012, in which Mr. Wang Hongzhang was elected as an executive director of the Bank. The board of directors of the Bank (the "Board") considered and approved the nomination of Mr. Wang Hongzhang as chairman of the Board on the same day. China Banking Regulatory Commission has approved qualifications of Mr. Wang Hongzhang to hold office. The Board hereby formally announces that, effective from 16 January 2012, Mr. Wang Hongzhang shall be appointed as chairman and executive director of the Board.

Mr. Wang Hongzhang's emoluments shall be determined pursuant to the Interim Measures on Emoluments Distributions for Directors and Supervisors of China Construction Bank Corporation. The Nomination and Compensation Committee of the Board shall, at the end of each year, propose the emoluments distribution plan, which shall be presented to the Board for consideration and be subject to the approval by the shareholders' general meeting.

Please refer to the *Circular for the First EGM of 2012*, published on the website of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited at www.hkex.com.hk on 30 November 2011 for Mr. Wang Hongzhang's Curriculum Vitae.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to welcome Mr. Wang Hongzhang to join the Board.

Announcement of the captioned matter is hereby given.

By order of the Board of Directors
China Construction Bank Corporation
Zhang Jianguo

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

16 January 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Hongzhang, Mr. Zhang Jianguo, Mr. Chen Zuofu and Mr. Zhu Xiaohuang; the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, Dame Jenny Shipley, Mr. Zhao Xijun and Mr. Wong Kai-Man; and the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yong, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Ms. Li Xiaoling, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling and Mr. Dong Shi.