Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

(USD Preference Shares Stock Code: 4606)

Announcement in Relation to Obtaining the Approval from CBRC Concerning the Issuance of Domestic Preference Shares

At the 2014 annual general meeting, the first A shareholders class meeting of 2015 and the first H shareholders class meeting of 2015 of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") held on 15 June 2015, the resolution in relation to the plan of issuance of domestic preference shares by the Bank was considered and approved respectively.

Recently, the Bank received the "Approval from CBRC Concerning the Issuance of Domestic Preference Shares by China Construction Bank Corporation" (Yin Jian Fu [2017] No. 274) issued by the China Banking Regulatory Commission (the "CBRC"). The CBRC approved the Bank's issuance of up to 600 million domestic preference shares, raising proceeds not exceeding RMB60 billion and which will be treated as other Tier 1 capital of the Bank in accordance with relevant regulations.

The Bank will proceed with the remaining application procedures with the relevant regulatory authorities and fulfill its information disclosure obligations in accordance with relevant laws and regulations.

Announcement of the captioned matter is hereby given.

By order of the Board
China Construction Bank Corporation
Wang Zuji

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

5 September 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Zuji, Mr. Pang Xiusheng and Mr. Zhang Gengsheng; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Ms. Feng Bing, Mr. Zhu Hailin, Mr. Li Jun, Mr. Wu Min, Mr. Zhang Qi and Ms. Hao Aiqun; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Ms. Anita Fung Yuen Mei, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy, Mr. Carl Walter, Mr. Chung Shui Ming Timpson and Mr. Murray Horn.