Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 939)

(USD Preference Shares Stock Code: 4606)

Announcement on the Approval of Issuance of the Domestic Tier-2 Capital Bonds

As considered and approved at the 2018 annual general meeting of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") held on 21 June 2019, the Bank proposed to issue write-down eligible tier-2 capital instruments. The term of validity of the resolution is from the date of approval by the shareholders' general meeting to 30 June 2021.

The Bank has recently received the *Approval from the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission in respect of the Issuance of Tier-2 Capital Bonds by China Construction Bank* (Yin Bao Jian Fu [2020] No. 413) and the *Affirmative Decision on Administrative Approval from the People's Bank of China* (Yin Xu Zhun Yu Jue Zi [2020] No. 50), pursuant to which the Bank has been approved to publicly issue tier-2 capital bonds of an amount not exceeding RMB66 billion in the domestic inter-bank bond market.

The Bank will perform its obligation of information disclosure regarding the issuance of tier-2 capital bonds in accordance with relevant regulatory requirements. After the completion of the issuance, the tier-2 capital bonds will be traded and circulated in the domestic inter-bank bond market pursuant to relevant regulations.

Announcement of the captioned matter is hereby given.

By Order of the Board of Directors

China Construction Bank Corporation

Liu Guiping

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

6 August 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Tian Guoli, Mr. Liu Guiping and Mr. Zhang Gengsheng; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Xu Jiandong, Ms. Feng Bing, Mr. Zhang Qi, Mr. Tian Bo and Mr. Xia Yang; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Ms. Anita Fung Yuen Mei, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy, Mr. Carl Walter, Mr. Kenneth Patrick Chung, Mr. Graeme Wheeler and Mr. Michel Madelain.