Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

Announcement on the Approval of Issuance of the Domestic Tier-2 Capital Bonds

As considered and approved at the First Extraordinary General Meeting of 2020 of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") held on 12 November 2020, the Bank proposed to issue qualified write-down tier-2 capital instruments. The term of validity of the resolution is from the date of approval by the shareholders' general meeting to 31 March 2022.

The Bank has recently received the *Approval from the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission in respect of the Issuance of Tier-2 Capital Bonds by China Construction Bank* (Yin Bao Jian Fu [2021] No. 552) and the *Affirmative Decision on Administrative Approval from the People's Bank of China* (Yin Xu Zhun Yu Jue Zi [2021] No. 110), pursuant to which the Bank has been approved to publicly issue tier-2 capital bonds of an amount not exceeding RMB145 billion in the domestic inter-bank bond market.

The Bank will perform its obligation of information disclosure regarding the issuance of tier-2 capital bonds in accordance with relevant regulatory requirements. After the completion of the issuance, the tier-2 capital bonds will be traded and circulated in the domestic inter-bank bond market pursuant to relevant regulations.

Announcement of the captioned matter is hereby given.

By Order of the Board of Directors
China Construction Bank Corporation
Wang Jiang

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

29 July 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Tian Guoli and Mr. Wang Jiang; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Xu Jiandong, Mr. Zhang Qi, Mr. Tian Bo, Mr. Xia Yang, Ms. Shao Min and Ms. Liu Fang; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy, Mr. Kenneth Patrick Chung, Mr. Graeme Wheeler, Mr. Michel Madelain and Mr. William Coen.